[solved] Help loading software

Shop Forum Makelangelo Polargraph Art Robot [solved] Help loading software

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi… could someone please elaborate on the actual steps to install the software downloaded from github. I’m a relatively newbie at this… which file (or files) do I run to install the Drawbot software? I have Arduino up and running.

Thanks in advance.
    Tom

Anonymous
    Inactive

Please make sure you’re using the experimental branch of the software.

If you copied the arduino firmware from github onto the arduino then the next step is to go to the /java folder and run DrawbotGUI.jar.

At present there’s a few hoops to jump through to make it work, depending on what platform you use. I’m working on fixing that. What OS are you using?

Anonymous
    Inactive

I’m running Windows Vista…

Tom

Anonymous
    Inactive

I’m actually writing some code right now that (I hope) will make it easier. I’ll let you know as soon as I have something that I think will work.

Anonymous
    Inactive

Ok, I’ve checked in a newer version of the software. These instructions are valid as of version 0.8.4b.

go to https://github.com/i-make-robots/drawbot/
    click on “ZIP” and extract the contents to a folder on your computer called DRAWBOT.

– Install Arduino. (arduino.cc)
    – copy DRAWBOT/arduino/libraries/AFMotorDrawbot to your arduino/libraries/AFMotorDrawbot
    – double click on DRAWBOT/arduino/arduino.ino to open the firmware in arduino.
    -connect your drawbot to your computer. check in arduino > tools that the port and board type (UNO) are correct.
    – hit “upload”, the second button from the left that looks like an arrow pointing to the right. it should upload without an issue if all the previous steps are ok.
    – click on the button on the far right (serial monitor). a new window will pop up.