alternate to AFmotor shield

Shop Forum Makelangelo Polargraph Art Robot alternate to AFmotor shield

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

I’ve got these:
    5V Stepper Motor + ULN2003 Driver Board Set from (dx.com)

and want to make a makelangelo variant — the GUI/pc side of your setup looks to be the easiest to work with of the various drawbots I’ve looked at.

the problem is that the ULN2003 is just a Darlington array. basically just allows me to directly control the stepper.
    the stepper library from arduino won’t work, it’s a blocking process, but I found this library : https://github.com/adafruit/AccelStepper
    I am trying to figure out what changes I need to make to the makelangelo code so I can use that with the driver boards I have.
    I’m not a great coder, but I think I can make this even without a helping hand, but it will be tedious.

I would love to get a shortcut 🙂
    Any suggestions?

Anonymous
    Inactive

Uh… I’m not familiar with the ULN2003. If you send the Arduino code when you get it working I can make it available to other people. You should only have to change the setup() and line() methods, if I remember correctly.

Anonymous
    Inactive

I’ll be hacking at it this weekend — if I get something working out then I’ll send it along

Anonymous
    Inactive

looks like I need to do 2 main things to substitute the accelstepper commands for the AFmotor ones, other than changing pin definitions.
    define forward and backward to be 1 and -1
    and make a function to handle onestep() — accelstepper equivalent would be move (1|-1); run();

If time permits this week, I’ll be testing this out.

Anonymous
    Inactive

I could put the m1.onestep() in a function on it’s own and that would make it easier to add #defines for different boards.

Will you be sharing your changes back with the github project so other people can use your solution?

Anonymous
    Inactive