binocular stewart platform – newbie Q’s

Shop Forum Stewart/Gough Platforms binocular stewart platform – newbie Q’s

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi, some interesting and cool stuff going on here.

I’m an amateur telescope maker (ATM) looking to solve a few design challenges for makers of binoscopes – essentially two telescopes joined to become a binocular telescope – by converting a standard truss system into a pair of Arduino controlled hexapods, or Stewart platforms. My reasoning is that a pair of Stewart platforms will solve the complex alignment issues that binoscopes experience and also reduce weight, essentially by eliminating all the normal mechanisms employed for adjusting and aligning optical components including collimation, focus, inter-pupillary distance (IPD) and convergence, many of which are mounted at the top end and must be compensated for with counterweights.

This photo shows a typical binoscope (not mine) and is found here http://arieotte-binoscopes.nl/Binoscopes.htm which has a few other links and images that may be of interest.